The Three Signs: Anicca, Dukkha & Anatta in the Buddha's Teaching

This book is a translation of chapter 3 of Buddhadhamma, explaining the Buddha’s key teaching on the Three Characteristics (tilakkhaṇa): impermanence (anicca), suffering/stress (dukkha), and not-self (anattā).

This book clarifies the meaning of the term dukkha, which has led to many misunderstandings through inadequate translations. For example, how many times have we heard the confusing rendering of ‘All life is suffering’? Similarly, the book offers a comprehensive explanation of the term anattā (‘not-self’), which can be perplexing to students new to Buddhism.

Digital formats are available on translator's website:  (This website is not a  part of Wat Nyanavesakavan. Distribution and commercial rights are reserved by the Buddhadhamma Foundation and/or the translator.)

Translated from ไตรลักษณ์: อนิจจตา ทุกขตา อนัตตตา
Robin Moore (formerly Suriyo Bhikkhu)
CopyrightBuddhadhamma Foundation
First publishingNo related data
Latest publishing onPublishing no. 2 January 2565
ISBNNo related data
Dewey no.BQ4255


Found matched 1 books
The content of this site, apart from dhamma books and audio files, has not been approved by Somdet Phra Buddhaghosacariya.  Such content purpose is only to provide conveniece in searching for relevant dhamma.  Please make sure that you revisit and cross check with original documents or audio files before using it as a source of reference.